History of Stone "The Stone Barn" in Augusta


By the 2011 owner Eric Knutson, it was a Dollar Stop general merchandise store

1883 - George Munger 1895 - Mrs. Oscar Finch 1914 - John Konz 1930 - Briske Brother

Then Lillian Lyons owned it for years. She was originally a Briske, married and took the name Lyons, was widowed - then, took over the Boarding House (house across the road from the Barn) and Livery Stable (the Barn).

Tom Tabola owned a cars service downstairs. He sold cars and had a small gas station. I believe this was in the 50s. He either lived in the upstairs, or rented is. . . as someone lived up there.

Apparently, he may be living in Cadott. In the late 1890s, then again in 1902 --- there was a significant jump in property tax. We are assuming the building was put up in the late 1890s, then - improvements were made in 1902.

But, the tax records are vague - - so it's only an assumption. We looked for a dated cornerstone - or dates anywhere else when we remodeled and came up empty handed.

We did find Leader Telegrams from the early 1900s in the floors and walls (they must have used as insulation). We also think it's original use may have had some connection with the the jail (maybe to house horses for the police).

The Barn was a Dollar Stop Store General Merchandise Convenience Store in 2011

The Augusta Wisconsin Barn Dollar Stop Stone Barn Store The Augusta Wisconsin Stone Barn
The Barn The Barn in Augusta


If Walls Could Talk

A Poem about "The Barn" for Augusta Wi
by Eric Knutson

George Munger was the owner in 1883, did the barn stand then . . . possibly!
The past is unclear, but we believe . . . the land at this date was still empty.
If only the walls could talk.
In 1895, there was a change . . . Mrs. Oscar Finch and George Munger made an exchange.
Tax records show improvements were made . . .did Mrs. Finch put a barn on the open range?
If only the walls could talk.
The walls are lined with newspapers from 1914, John Konz – the new owner – was already “going green.”
The jailhouse nestled right behind the barn, the stone used was the same . . . this helps us come up with a more accurate timeframe.
If only the walls could talk.
In the 1930s, the barn was in the Briske Brothers hands . . . then to Lillian Lyons from what I understand!
Lillian was widowed, Briske was her maiden name . . . relative or sibling we’re unsure, but family of the same.
If only the walls could talk.
Across the road Lillian lived in and ran the boarding house in town . . . at this time the barn was a livery stable, she also held that down.
Through all these years and owners the barn has stood structurally sound, the history is amazing . . . quite profound.
If only the walls could talk.
In the 50s, Tom Tabola had a new idea in mind . . . if you were around during these years a car dealership and gas station is what you would find.
With living quarters upstairs and a commercial business on the main . . . more uses and character is what the little barn gained.
If only the walls could talk.
The gas station went and eventually the dealership too . . . and once again this quaint historical barn found something to house that was new.
An auto repair shop came in next as many still recall . . . but, unfortunately as time did pass this business would also fall.
If only the walls could talk.
Most recently before the store, thrift sales were held in here . . . until the Petznicks purchased the barn and put a new idea into gear.
In came “the Barn” a unique little store with variety and low cost . . . with a little remodeling and a new glass door the barn’s legacy hasn’t been lost.
If only the walls could talk.
A barn, a stable, a station, a store . . . from this unique, historical building . . . we could not ask for more.
If only the walls could talk.